Music Faculty

Academic Classes

 
Music Education Music Theory & Aural Skills
Dr. Joel Reed Ms. Rebecca Long
Mr. Michael Robinson Ms. Cynthia Roop
Ms. Cynthia Roop Dr. Alan Theisen
   
   

Applied Music

 
Brass Percussion
Dr. John Entzi, trumpet Mr. Paul Babelay
Mr. Anthony Ammons, horn Mr. Justin Mabry
Dr. Jim Sparrow, trombone Dr. Brian Tinkel
Dr. Jim Sparrow, euphonium  
Mr. Bud Holmes, tuba Strings
  Dr. Gina Caldwell
Folk Guitar, Banjo  
Mr. Gary Spence Voice
  Mr. Dominic Aquilino
Keyboard Dr. Julie Fortney
Ms. Cathy Adkins, organ Ms. Andrea Heys
Dr. Teresa Sumpter, piano Dr. Joel Reed
Mr. Brad Curtioff, accompanist  
Mr. Leslie Downs, accompanist Woodwinds
Ms. Virginia McKnight, accompanist Ms. Rosalind Buda, bassoon
Ms. Anne Parker, accompanist Mr. Fred Lemmons, clarinet
  Ms. Katherine Potter, oboe
  Ms. Cynthia Roop, flute
  Dr. Alan Theisen, saxophone
   

Ensembles

Brass Quintet, Dr. John Entzi
College Choir, Dr. Michael Ciavaglia
Jazz Band, Dr. John Entzi
Low Brass Ensemble, Dr. Jim Sparrow
Mountain Lion Marching Band, Mr. Michael Robinson & Dr. Brian Tinkel
Percussion Ensemble, Dr. Brian Tinkel
Wind Symphony, Mr. Michael Robinson
 

Ms. Cathy Adkins

Associate Professor Music, Music History & College Organist
Office: 151 Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1395
Email: cadkins@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: B.M., University of North Carolina at Greensboro, 1976; M.M., University of Michigan, 1979; University of Michigan, 1979-80, 1983-85; University of North Carolina at Greensboro, 1995-97

 

Mr. Anthony Ammons

Adjunct Music Faculty, Horn
Office: 116 Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1209
Email: aammons@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: B.M., Mars Hill College, 1988; M.M., Appalachian State University, 1989

 

Mr. Dominic Aquilino

Email: daquilino@mhu.edu
Education: BFA - Music, State University of New York at Purchase, 1995; MM - Voice/Opera Theatre, The Manhattan School of Music, New York, New York, 2001; Professional Studies in Music/Opera Theatre, The Manhattan School of Music, New York, New York, 2003

 

Mr. Brad Curtioff

Staff Accompanist
Email: bcurtioff@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: BM West Virginia Univ. 2004 – Music/Piano

 

Dr. John Entzi

Adjunct Music Faculty, Trumpet/Jazz
Office: Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1209
Email:jentzi@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: BME UNCG 1974, MA ASU 1978, DMA USC Columbia 1999

 

Dr. Julie Fortney

Professor of Music, Voice Division Coordinator
Office: 200 Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1222
Email: jfortney@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: B.A., Mundelein College, 1962; M.M., Indiana University, 1966; D.M.A., University of Colorado, 1972

 

Mr. Fred Lemmons

Adjunct Professor of Music, Clarinet
Office: Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1433
Email: flemmons@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: B.S. Music Education, University of Tennessee-Chattanooga, 1982; M.M. Clarinet Performance, Louisiana State University, 1986; "The President's Own," United States Marine Band, 1988-2009.

 

Ms. Rebecca Long

Instructor of Music
Office: 100 Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1509
Email: rlong@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6768
Education: M.S. Music Theory, University of Southern Mississippi.

 

Mrs. Virginia McKnight

Staff Accompanist
Office: 102 Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1431
Email: vmcknight@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: Bachelor of Music-Piano major, Stetson University; Master of Music-Piano-Accompanying, Florida State University

 

Mrs. Anne Parker

Staff Accompanist
Office: Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1209
Email: aparker@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: BA, Wake Forest University, 1968; MA, UNC-Chapel Hill, 1973

 

Dr. Joel Reed

Professor of Music, Director of Choral Activities, & Department Chair
Office: 205 Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1131
Email: jreed@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: B.M., Mars Hill College, 1968; M.C.M., New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary, 1973; Ed.D., New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary, 1975; Westminister Choir College, 1980, 1984

 

Mr. Michael Robinson

Director of Bands
Office: 204 Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1210
Email: mrobinson@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: B.M., Mars Hill College, 1977

 

Ms. Cynthia Roop

Adjunct Music Faculty, Flute, Aural Skills
Office: 120 Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1107
Email: croop@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: B.M.E. Murray State University 1992, M.Ed Univ. of Massachusetts Amherst 2001, Flute performance Univ. of Oklahoma 2004

 

Dr. Jim Sparrow

Associate Professor of Music, Trombone/Euphonium Instrumental Division Coordinator
Office: 162 Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1433
Email: jsparrow@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Website: www.docsparrow.com
Education: B.M., Columbus College, 1977; M.A., University of Denver, 1983; D.M.A., University of Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music, 1999

 

Mr. Gary Spence

Adjunct Music Faculty, Folk Guitar/Banjo
Office: 100 Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1209
Email: gspence@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: B.A. Mars Hill College

 

Dr. Teresa Sumpter

Assistant Professor of Music, Piano, Keyboard Division Coordinator
Office: Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1308
Email: tsumpter@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: B.M., Ball State University, 1986; M.B.A., West Virginia University, 1994; M.M., University of Oklahoma, 2005; Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, 2008

 

Dr. Alan Theisen

Assistant Professor of Music, Music Theory and Music Technology
Office: Moore Fine Arts 118
Phone: (828) 689-1565
Email: atheisen@mhu.edu
Education: B.M., University of Southern Mississippi, 2003; M.M.; University of Southern Mississippi, 2006; Ph.D., Florida State University, 2010.

 

Dr. Brian Tinkel

Assistant Professor of Music, Director of Percussion Studies
Office: 112 Moore Auditorium
Phone: (828) 689-1588
Email: btinkel@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: B.S., University of Massachusetts, 1996; B.M., University of Massachusetts, 2000; M.M; University of Massachusetts, 2002; D.M.A., The University of Oklahoma, 2009.